Double Rainbow over the Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic Church

April 6, 2007

roygbiv + icucc

roygbiv + icucc, photo by maproomsystems.

I don’t know if there really was a double rainbow over the Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic Church in Hamtramck, Michigan. While the photo wasn’t posted until yesterday, it was taken on April 1st (another photo from Brett posted below says probably so). Who knows! In any case, it makes a perfect photo for today.

Detroit1701.org – a tremendously informative web site I just found – has an entry on Hamtramck’s Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic Church:

Ukrainians began coming to metropolitan Detroit shortly after 1900. A large number settled in southern Hamtramck, especially on Grayling between Lumpkin and Joseph Campau. The first Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic Church was a wooden structure on Grayling opened in 1913. By 1936, this parish operated a complete elementary school. As the congregants prospered, they were able to build the massive church that you see above. The cornerstone for this church was laid in 1942 but it was some years before the building was completed.

Seriously, this is an amazing web site with nearly 100 entries for religious buildings alone as well as hundreds of pages on everything from Detroit statues and public art to noted Detroit-area residences.

Visit detroit1701.org!

7 Responses to “Double Rainbow over the Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic Church”


  1. [...] Double Rainbow over the Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic <b>…</b> [...]


  2. I’ll vouch for Brett. I was there when the photo was taken and can confirm that there was, in fact, a vivid double rainbow present as we walked East on Commor last Sunday.

  3. farlane Says:

    That’s great!

    I only suggested it might be because of this … and maybe this … and then there’s this too.

  4. fivecats Says:

    In Hawaii, rainbows signifies good fortune (luck). A double rainbow, perhaps good fortune times 2?

  5. marissa Says:

    Hi I just wanted to confirm something. Today is the feast of the Immaculate conception of Mary. I awoke this morning at approximately 6am to make a bottle for my daughter. When I looked through the kitchen window I saw the brightest half rainbow I ever saw in my 31 years on this Earth. What further had me intrigued is that the sky was very strange in appearance. The clouds were golden in colour yet it was overcast- no sun. I found it oddly beautiful. Only as I read the above comments and see the pictures od the rainbows did I make a connection. I am from Trinidad, West Indies


  6. [...] Double Rainbow over the Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic …Detroit1701.org – a tremendously informative web site I just found – has an entry on Hamtramck's Immaculate Conception Ukrainian Catholic … [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,754 other followers

