Garage Sale Culture: I’m one of those Americans

March 18, 2009

david-mcgowan-garage-sale-culture

I’m one of those Americans, photo by David McGowan

David says that in the summer of 2008, he started shooting an essay on the culture of garage sales in Michigan as we moved deeper into recession.

Now his essay is one the fantastic photography site Burn. Burn is curated by notable Magnum and National Geographic photographer, David Alan Harvey, and was established to be a platform for emerging photographers online and in print. Do yourself a favor and check out David McGowan – Garage Sale.

I’m serious – do not miss this one.

I have to also say thanks to David for introducing me to Lux Land,  Michigan songstress and wife of Brian Vander Ark who I had heard of but never really heard. Her song, Touching a Legend is the soundtrack and you can can check her music out at Luxy Land or MySpace.

2 Responses to “Garage Sale Culture: I’m one of those Americans”

  1. David Says:

    Thanks Andrew – I’ll be in touch with other stuff soon.

  2. farlane Says:

    You’re welcome David, and you can bet I’ll be looking forward to it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,852 other followers

