The Last Pitch: Farewell to Ernie Harwell

May 5, 2010

The Last Pitch
The Last Pitch, photo by baklein62

“I’d like to be remembered as someone who showed up for the job. I consider myself a worker. I love what I do. If I had my time over again, I’d probably do it for nothing.”
~Ernie Harwell

Like thousands of other people, whenever I see a picture like this of my beloved Detroit Tigers, the voice that narrates it in my head is the voice of William Earnest “Ernie” Harwell, who passed away last night at the age of 92.

Probably the best thing that I’ve seen about Harwell is this video. The Detroit Tigers tribute page to Ernie Harwell lists his accomplishments:

He also called the pitch from Todd Jones in the photo above that ended the last game ever at Detroit’s Tiger Stadium on September 27, 1999.

Struck him out.

I’m thinking Ernie would have liked this photo from Barney even more, but I already blogged it. More in his terrific Baseball as Art set (slideshow) and more about Ernie Harwell and the Detroit Tigers on Michigan in Pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,144 other followers

