Super Moon over Detroit

March 21, 2011

Supermoon from Belle Isle
Supermoon from Belle Isle, photo by Alanna St. Laurent Photography

On Saturday night the Super Moon took to the skies. While it didn’t appear to be the biggest moon I’ve ever seen, it was definitely very impressive. You can still check it out pretty big tonight if it’s out.

Check this out bigger and see a couple more in Alanna’s Detroit Slideshow.

There are a bunch more shots of the Super Moon over some familiar Michigan scenery in the Absolute Michigan pool on Flickr – add your own if you have them and settle back for the Super Moon slideshow!

More about the Super Moon on Michigan in Pictures and check out the Super Moon slideshow from the Absolute Michigan pool!

13 Responses to “Super Moon over Detroit”

  1. Blogger Says:

    That is a horribly photoshopped picture.

  2. farlane Says:

    It’s actually not photoshopped. It’s a stacked HDR I believe. I never understood the impulse that drives people to be mean and angry online.

  3. Ted Fines Says:

    I agree that if you don’t have anything nice to say then just “shut up”!

  4. Blogger Says:

    Actually Ted Fines, its not that I don’t have anything nice to say, its that I don’t want to be lied to in a picture.

    There are many things that lead me to say that in this picture, including how it is an extended exposure so that the water, skyline, and other items are blurry, and the lights have a star burst effect coming off of them. That moon is too crisp to be from a long exposure. If anything, its a stacked picture of a zoomed up picture of the moon overlaid on the extended exposure picture.

    You can also see the star burst effect coming off the real size of the moon which is behind the bigger overlaid version.

  5. John Says:

    Too bad the cutline doesn’t indicate which two lenses were used in this image…one wide for the landscape, and one long telephoto (400mm?) for the moon?

  6. farlane Says:

    Turns out I was wrong and it is the result of two shots.

    http://alannastlaurent.com/2011/03/super-moon-is-super/

    I still maintain that I’m really tired of people treating the internet like it’s life or death. So, good call Blogger, but bad manners.


  7. Blogger: I got a chuckle from your comment “you do not want to be lied to in a picture”. If you had read my blog, which you obviously did not, then you would have seen that I explained that the photo was photoshopped and even explained how I did it. I find it more funny that you must think that so many photos that you see online, in magazines, etc. have NOT been manipulated in some way (aka “lying to people”). In fact, I would like to see how many great photos come out of your camera without ANY processing whatsoever. I think photos can be made even better than what the camera is able to capture by the use of post-processing software, and whole industries revolve around photographers learning how to do this. Maybe you might want to take this up with them.

  8. farlane Says:

    Part of this is my fault for not realizing that you had manipulated this. You kind of have to with a picture like this to get the actual effect that you see with your eyes.

    This is a good point for a rant from one of the world’s leading photographers, Ken Rockwell about filters and such:

    The more you learn about photography the more you’ll also learn that artificial filters and manipulation are required to make a natural looking image. Ansel Adams realized that human perception and the photographic processes are quite different. Therefore one needs to use a lot of filtration, manipulation and burning and dodging to compensate for the human eye and brain’s image processing to create an image on paper that looks natural. (You can read this in his books.) This is why most snapshots don’t look like the original scene. Artificial processes and image manipulation are needed to make a photograph look natural.

    Armchair photographers like to play a stupid game that prohibits anything creative and requires they just play forensic photographers blindly Xeroxing nature without filters. I only judge people on the final image, not the process. Sadly these folks get images that are both dull and unnatural.

    I’m not trying to reproduce nature. I encourage people to be creative. I personally use any sort of artificial anything I can to create the look I want. I’m expressing my imagination, not trying to duplicate reality.

    I have always found “blindly Xeroxing nature” to be an apt description for people who are trying to get the “purity” of a photograph taken with cameras which are, in the end, entirely artificial vision systems. There’s times when HDR meets my tastes and times when it doesn’t, and the same holds true with anything.

    Camera, lens, film, software – all are tools that have a place.


    • Thanks Andrew for the reply and I did read Ken’s post as well. This experience made me realize I should add more detail to my Flickr photo descriptions so people know how the photo came about. Live and learn :)


  9. [...] of my photos was featured in the Michigan in Pictures blog, which has surprisingly started a conversation about the use of post-processing in images (one [...]

  10. farlane Says:

    I don’t know that it’s the duty of an artist to explain their work. (although it would probably help me interpret photos)


  11. [...] the Super Moon seen last weekend. If you didn’t get a chance to see the moon for yourself, click through to find the Flickr page featuring images of the Super [...]


  12. [...] the Super Moon seen last weekend. If you didn’t get a chance to see the moon for yourself, click through to find the Flickr page featuring images of the Super [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,093 other followers

