Turnip Rock Sunrise

July 6, 2013

Turnip Rock Sunrise (3 of 3)

Turnip Rock Sunrise (3 of 3), photo by dwfphoto

You may recognize this photographer from his photo of Chapel Rock last month. Turnip Rock has been featured a few times on Michigan in Pictures, but this is definitely the most dramatic photo of it! He writes:

Taking these pictures of “Turnip Rock”, located near Port Austin at the tip of Michigan’s thumb region, was a bit of an adventure. I had seen day time pictures of it before, but thought that it would look its best at sunrise. I decided to make a project of it during the 4th of July weekend. I traveled to Port Austin and in talking to folks there confirmed what I had already read – since it is located just offshore a large private property the only way to visit it is by kayak (about 7 miles round trip). I hesitated a bit since it was my first time in the area and I have not kayaked in decades. Also, in order be there by sunrise meant I would have to paddle out there in the pre-dawn darkness. Having a chance to see it at sunrise turned out to be too tempting, so after finding a hotel room 20 miles away in Bad Axe (closest one available because of the holiday), I put my alarm clock on for 3:45am.

I was on the water by about 4:30am and arrived at Turnip Rock just before the sky started to light up. I have had several outings before where the weather didn’t cooperate, but this time I was lucky and despite the clouds there were some nice colors in the sky. I am pleased with the pictures, but the experience of kayaking out on Lake Huron in the early morning hours is something I will always remember. Look forward to other outings like this, which is one of the reasons I have enjoyed taking up photography again.

Indeed! Your camera is like a dog – it will make you get outside and see cool things! Check this out background bigtacular and see a couple more shots from his kayaking adventure in his slideshow.

Beaches? Sunrises? Lake Huron? Summer wallpaper? Tons more on Michigan in Pictures. Enjoy your holiday weekend!

6 Responses to “Turnip Rock Sunrise”

  1. Russ Says:

    FABULOUS!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this, and for all the effort!!

  2. Heather Says:

    I love this! And the story is worthy of the photo. Makes me want to see it the same way :)

  3. kathleen Erickson Says:

    Pure Michigan

  4. lottienoni@comcast.net Says:

    Your wonderful  photos make my day every morning…thank you so much.  I love Michigan, since I’ve been here 88 years and your photos bring it to me, since no traveling any more.

  5. Leah Says:

    I love it when a photo comes together like this–glad the weather cooperated. I’d love to kayak out there myself now!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,097 other followers

