Happy Ending: Sunrise in the Porkies

October 10, 2013

Happy ending

Happy ending, photo by adonyvan

About this gorgeous shot of the sunrise & fall color in the Porcupine Mountains, Jiqing Fan writes:

Weather.com forecasted that the sky would clear 2 hours before Monday’s sunrise after 3 days rain, so I decided to camp at the Porcupine Mountain to wait for it. Sunday afternoon, dense fog completely obscured the valley and the rain didn’t stop until midnight. My headlamp became completely useless because of the moisture/fog, I nearly got lost from the toilet to my car 100 feet away. I set up my tent at the parking lot in pitch dark and light rain. Apparently, I am not the only one trying to catch the break and photograph the peak color here. People started to show up, at 2am, 4am, 5am and 6am. Needless to say, I could not get a good sleep. I got up before 7am and found out that there were at least 20 cars already.

My miserable night finally paid off and the light was really amazing that morning.

He adds that color is surprisingly late this year with the Porkies likely peaking this week and says that most of Houghton hasn’t turn red a full week later than usual.

You can check his photo out bigger, jump into his slideshow for more photos from the trip, view it on his map and and see more of his work at Michigan in Pictures.

More sunrises on Michigan in Pictures.

One Response to “Happy Ending: Sunrise in the Porkies”

  1. Heather Says:

    I was over in the Porkies on Tuesday, and the color is just now golden. Still a lot of shoreline green, though.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,748 other followers

