Reeds, Crooked Lake from the Waters of Michigan

Reeds, Crooked Lake photo by David Lubbers

Reeds, Crooked Lake, photo by David Lubbers

Michigan environmental writer Dave Dempsey has long been someone I admire. His biography of Michigan Governor William G. Milliken is a book that everyone who loves Michigan should read. For years I’ve had a gorgeous black & white photo of the Manitou Passage by David Lubbers hanging in my office.

I was therefore pretty darn excited when Dave told me about his new book, The Waters of Michigan.

It’s a rich and thoughtful journey through Michigan’s rivers, lakes and other manifestations of water with words and photos, and today I am honored to have some more photos from the book and an excerpt titled Water and Michigan’s Destiny on Absolute Michigan.

I hope you get a chance to read it.

Leave a Reply

