Frozen in Time, 2014 edition

Frozen in Time

Frozen in Time, photo by photofrenzy2000

2014 will never come this way again, so for better or worse, here are some 2014 highlights from Michigan in Pictures…

Cougar CamThe most popular post was Cougar Cam Confirmation, which was published on November 7th. Since I’ve been sounding the “cougars live in Michigan” horn for several years now, it’s gratifying that the DNR is now on board.

Isle Royale Star BreezeWith 77,000 views on Facebook, the cougar cam was the most popular post there too, followed very closely by Space Weather and Starbreeze that benefited from the Lake Superior Photo bump!

Paradise is the nickname of this placeShawn of Lake Superior Photo checked in with the second most popular pic, Paradise is the nickname of this place, a photo that features one of the amazing & out-of-the-way Michigan gems that I learned about in 2014.

Ice Caves Leelanau Peninsula by Ken ScottThe third most popular picture & story was one from close to my home, the astonishing The Ice Caves of Leelanau that drew tens of thousands of people to the Leelanau Peninsula last winter to see them. You can click that link to see Ken’s photos or save yourself the time and head over to his site to purchase his book, The Ice Caves of Leelanau.

Winter at Tahquamenon Falls John McCormickWeighing in at number four was Winter at Tahquamenon Falls by John McCormick aka MichiganNut. While this photo didn’t make his 2015 wall calendar, a dozen other great ones did!

Shadow Moon by Michael SeabrookClosing out the top five was the Blood Moon and the Lunar Eclipse Tetrad by Michael Seabrook. The first two of these four total lunar eclipses are in the books, but April 4 & September 28, 2015 are still to be seen.

Polar Vortex Cabin FeverThe top commented post was Michigan in Pictures is a blog, folks, which I posted after getting a bunch of negative comments after sharing a photo from a group working against the Keystone XL Pipeline coming through Michigan. It made me very happy to get support for protecting the beautiful natural heritage features on Michigan in Pictures from so many readers … and also to share the awesome photo of our cats!

View this photo from December of 2010 at the St. Joseph Lighthouse bigger and jump into photofrenzy2000’s slideshow for more awesome shots!

8 thoughts on “Frozen in Time, 2014 edition

  1. Being a Michigander native, and longtime Colorado resident, I’ve always maintained Michigan is unrivaled in its water-centered beauty. Your photos are a daily joy from the place I still think of as home.

    Like

    1. So glad that you’re getting a taste of home, Sammy. One of the reasons I started Michigan in Pictures is because I remembered how much I missed the Great Lakes State when I was living somewhere else!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on campfirememories and commented:
    I love Michigan! There is always new beauty to discover. It is the place I’d rather be. (Lake Michigan is “Memory Lake”) I now live in Virginia but my exploration of this beauty continues because Andrew McFarlane posts a new picture of startling beauty every day on his blog “Michigan in Pictures”. I’m not sure how he manages it, given the inevitability of life’s surprises, but it’s been nine years and he’s still at it. I only know, (as I rededicate myself to blogging in 2015), I am grateful for his efforts. I’m honored to re-blog his year-end compilation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

