Autumnal Splendor at Lake of the Clouds

Autumnal Splendor

Autumnal Splendor, photo by Eric Hackney

True confession: I was asked to share less from northern Michigan and the Upper Peninsula. True answer: It’s really hard to turn my back on incredible visions like this! I will try and do better tomorrow. Promise. 

Also – new design for the blog. Not finished, but at least the pics are bigger. Thoughts & comments are appreciated.

Lake of the Clouds is one of the main attractions in the Porcupine Mountains State Park. Be sure to check out this interactive map & photo presentation from the Park that includes a 360-degree panorama from the spot atop Cuyahoga Peak where this photo was taken!

View Eric’s photo bigger and see more in his Landmarks & Landscapes slideshow.

PS: There’s more photos from Eric on Michigan in Pictures

 

8 thoughts on “Autumnal Splendor at Lake of the Clouds

  1. Mr. “Farlane”,

    I love the photos! We can’t help it that the northern part of our state is the most beautiful…away from the most people!

    I wouldn’t change a thing!

    But, whatever…

    Blessings!

    Catherine L. Herron, MA, BMT
    Chaplain
    Beaumont Hospital Grosse Pointe

    Like

  2. I cannot imagine you sharing less of Northern Michigan and the UP. I hope you will continue to share just as much as you always have. I love having my morning coffee while watching the slideshows that often but not always accompany these additions every morning. And I also gain insight and inspiration from the beautiful photography and new travel ideas. I love what you’re doing and please continue!

    Like

  3. Love the new bigger pics! And one of the big reasons I come to Michigan in Pictures is to get my fix of the northern lower peninsula and the UP because I can’t get up there as often as I would like to see it in person. Keep posting pics of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. No no! Please don’t look at it as “sharing less from N Mi and the UP.” Look at it as showcasing the other great and beautiful places in Michigan. :) I absolutely LOVE your posts and look forward to them every day. But it would be fun to see more places near where I live (southwest Michigan) so I can actually plausibly go SEE some of them without taking a week-long vacation.

    Thanks for considering!

    Becky St. Clair Media Communications Manager Division of Integrated Marketing & Communication Andrews University

    269-471-3348 office 269-605-3438 cell

    http://www.andrews.edu facebook.com/andrewsuniversity

    “Seek Knowledge. Affirm Faith. Change the World.”

    From: Michigan in Pictures <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Michigan in Pictures <comment+73k6or7utytqr6_ll6vl1@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Thursday, October 15, 2015 at 7:29 AM To: “Rebecca St. Clair” <stclair@andrews.edu> Subject: [New post] Autumnal Splendor at Lake of the Clouds

    farlane posted: ” Autumnal Splendor, photo by Eric Hackney True confession: I was asked to share less from northern Michigan and the Upper Peninsula. True answer: It’s really hard to turn my back on incredible visions like this! I will try and do better tomorrow. Pr”

    Like

    1. Oh hey Becky – please don’t look at this as me being unhappy about what you said or even disagreeing with you. I DO agree that I’ve been featuring a whole ton from up north lately and really like to explore what’s up in the southern part of the state.

      Like

  5. I recently switched one of my blogs to the ‘Publisher’ theme. It gives a very large photo at the top, I just haven’t figured out how to make sure the most recent post appears ‘at the top.’

    I love any pictures from our state. I really like photos from the UP especially since I have little opportunity to visit there, now matter how great the desire to do so.

    Keep up the good work. I enjoy your blog very much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

