Mackinac Wake

Mackinac Bridge from ferry

Mackinac Wake, photo by Bill Johnson

Bill took this photo in May of 1987 and writes:

We had been out to the island and were returning via ferry when the captain announced a slight detour in our route. There was some kind of a special group aboard and as a treat, our boat went under the Mighty Mac, something they hardly ever do. It was pretty neat. The five mile long bridge is no longer the longest suspension bridge in the world, but to me it’s still the prettiest. I’ve personally seen several other suspension bridges, including the Golden Gate, and I’ll pick the Mac every time.

View his photo background big and see more in his Michigan slideshow.

Lots more of the Mighty Mackinac Bridge on Michigan in Pictures!

One thought on “Mackinac Wake

  1. Wow, the first and only time I went to Mackinac Island, I was 15 years old. I was blown away by this bridge. I enjoyed the Island, the ferry and … Since I’ve seen this bridge, I think my husband and I will plan a trip to Mackinac.

    As usual, I enjoy the pics you share. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

