Remembering Jim Harrison

Jim Harrison

Jim Harrison, photo by David Brigham

I’m actually forced to write about Michigan because as a native of that state it’s the place I know best.
~Jim Harrison

I found out last night that Jim Harrison passed away. In addition to being a noted Michigan author, Jim was one of my father’s best friends and a frequent (often late-night) visitor to my house.

If you’d like to read more about Jim, I encourage you to read this fairly recent feature on Jim by Jerry Dennis on MyNorth and also this excellent feature from the New York Times.

The photo is (I’m pretty sure) by another family friend, David Brigham from the original jacket Jim’s book Dalva.

5 thoughts on “Remembering Jim Harrison

  1. I am so sad to hear of Jim’s passing. I remember him from his days as a grad student at MSU and have read many of his writings. He was an extraordinary author whose works will live forever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

