Waterfall Wednesday: Behind Scott Falls

Behind Scott Falls

What I See-3176, photo by Mike Hainstock

Here’s a nice feature on Scott Falls from Live the UP:

Scott Falls is one of the easiest waterfalls to access in the Upper Peninsula. It is just east of the Au Train river and right on highway M28. Just across the highway is a roadside park complete with vaulted toilets, water, charcoal grills, picnic tables, and beach access. Scott Falls couldn’t’ be in a more convenient location.

I believe that many of us in the Upper Peninsula have found childhood memories of Scott Falls. Personally, I remember those warm summer days when my mother would take us for a swim at the roadside park. Of course we would be covered in sand from walking up the beach afterward, so mom would take us across the road and make us rinse off in Scott Falls. We would play in the water and have an adventure in the cave behind the falls. As a kid, sitting in that cave when the train comes through is amazing! I’m sure that many of us have shared similar experiences.

Click through for more! Regarding the photo, Mike writes:

This is how I prefer to see my world. A magical place, begging to be explored and enjoyed. I’m so lucky to have a partner that not only lets me, but comes along and enjoys it as I do.

View his photo bigger, see more in his slideshow, and view and purchase his work at mikehainstock.com.

Many more Michigan waterfalls on Michigan in Pictures!

Leave a Reply

